An Epic Blog for an Epic Event – Rated PG for Party-Going Audiences.

Warning: the following blog contains partial nudity and mild adult themes. Put down your sensibilities and grab a cuppa for a recap of a behemoth Music Marathon.

Who was singing sweet nothings? Who was wearing sweet nothings? And why “Think Pink” is no longer a solemn matter? 

The Colour Factory: awesome second life venue

If you know the answer to these questions then you, my friend, were a part of the most outstanding Second Life fund-raiser of all time*.   At 7:30am Sunday morning South Australian time the Colour Factory in Second Life came to life to raise money and awareness for the Parfait Party. *In my humble opinion 

Recap for those I have already lost:  Second Life is a virtual world that I hang out in and it is the reason I have so many beautiful, caring friends across the globe.  In Second Life you can be yourself, someone else, a dragon, a bunny, a fairy… you can go to the Louvre, the Eiffel tower or even  Pandora (from the movie Avatar), hear live music from a gig in Scotland, swim with dolphins, fly, dance, be a part of Dr Who or Star Trek.  You can change your name (My SL name is RebelMum or Rebs for short) You can make cities, design fashion, make money, spend money, give money… okies back to the marathon.

Wow… where to  start?  Ok my beautiful friend Bright Oh – a second life muso with regular gigs around Second Life (SL) decided to hold a music marathon as fund raiser for me. Sometime shortly afterward, his brain departed his body and he was possessed with the notion to sing 100 songs in 26 hours.  Yep, you read right – a 100 ORIGINAL songs live in 26 hours.  My dear friends Whisper and Precious chimed into help, taking control of  organising the marathon. Everything from decor and tip jars, posters, invites, rounding up artists to fill spots – (coordinating a live global 26 hours schedule is pretty wild task), hosting the event, welcomes, thank you’s, artist promotion… I can’t list all the good stuff they did to make this event, smooth, exciting and so professional.

Our Awesome Colour Factory Boss and Chief Marathon organiser, Whisper

Our Awesome Colour Factory Boss and Chief Marathon organiser, Whisper

The lovely Precious, chief artist organiser

A crowd of other beautiful people backed up Precious and Whisper with decorations, hosting and the all important bolstering the crowd during the event: Classy, Bibbi, Moonwomen; Enchantress; Lilly;  Timo – my goodness you guys have some stamina…. And I am sure your dedication inspired others like Skye, Marisol and Logan and dozens of others to jump on board and keep the gig pumping.

Classy (left) and tribe of others made this event a reality

And the gig did pump – for the whole 26 hours. The amazing artists who donated time, money and helped keeping the event alive – Bright Oh, Charles Somerset, Experiment Rhode, Maximillion Kleene, Sid Slade, AMForte, Edward Kyomoon, Theresa Nayer, Josie Anderton, Tamra Hayden, Shannon Oherlihy, Gina Gracemount, Quantamis Navarathna and Sonix. It was so professional and entertaining.

Being that I am not in full health it was a struggle to stay awake and functioning for the whole 26 hours so I enlisted some Help behind the scenes.  At least that way I had a first hand account of everything that went down.   Apparently so did everyone else….

During my few rest periods on the couch I was … well so the unsubstantiated rumour goes…. singing along in my sleep  A fact which the aforementioned said ‘Help’ thought was hilarious and saw fit to share with the entire crowd at The Colour Factory. Is nothing sacred and off limits at this Parfait Party?

Interjection by Said Help:  Ah, no, nothing is off limits. And almost everything is hilarious at 3am!  I can’t be held accountable!    Speaking of nothing being sacred and off limits… you promised some antics… 

Yes thank you, Said Help.  And antics there were. At least I was the not the only one embarrassed at the marathon.  I knew things were going to get rowdy when the beautiful Gina Gracemount sang the Panty Song in her amazing set, which started a fresh round of mis-pronouced discussions about Purple Parfait Panty Parties and other such tongue-twisters.

You would have heard people say anything for a good cause right?  The Marathon was no exception.  It was less than half way through before the crowd added even more spice with a few dares.
“I’ve got L5000 if Bright Oh wears a pink tutu for the next set” cried one.
“Another L5000 here if Tex joins him.”

At the mere mention of putting on a pink tutu in front of a crowd Bright Oh replies… “Oh yeah, I think I’ve still got my tutu. This is  normal weekend stuff for me.  Let’s do this.”
And so he did 🙂

Perhaps something you might not hear him say so casually in the real world.  Then again … maybe you would 🙂

Ahh, the wild abandon of having an avatar. Then it was on… in short order a pole arrived and Tex had a wardrobe change again: pink tights and a fluffy pink tail.  Now Tex’s Avatar when NOT wearing pink and wrapped around a pole is rather – well manly – so what a sight it was to see this great hunk of pixels pole dancing in pink for our pleasure and lindens!   Tex took rather a fancy to himself in pink and there was much discussion on the Facebook group about how many of us will never be able to “think pink” again with a straight face.  He he he.

Bright in Tutu with Parfait Glass tip jar

Tex rates his new look: “Damn, I make Pink look HOT!”

Bright Oh worked his way into delirium (with a few other die-hards) and through his 100 songs.  At about 3am he was telling the crowd about song choices and why he picked the comfy songs for this hour, knowing that 3am and song #70 was going to see him less than on form. He also told us how he wasn’t chatting between songs as much as usual to save his voice.  But then he said perhaps he was still talking… it was a LONG night for Mr Oh. Eventually he finished his debate with himself about how much he was/wasn’t chatting and ploughed on through the song list.

Toward the end of the show Bright was singing a lovely ballad – about song 97 I think – looking very proper on stage and suddenly I see Chuck (Charles Somerset) getting his gear off again – all for more donations. I think?  Then Experiment Rhode also – for the cause – disrobed and donned a Sporran (ONLY a Sporran) a tribute to our earlier Scottish performers – SONIX perhaps?

Chuck is singing SOAR, but thinking Good Charlotte: “Where’s my car, where’s my keys, where’s my clothes”

Aye, it’s seems you’ve forgotten ye kilt. Dinnae get yersel’ in a fankle?

The finale was sensational – amazing lighting and fireworks to congratulate Bright for making it to the 100 songs.   He did it and did it well!

The Colour Factory: Awesome second life venue explodes into fireworks and light as Bright sings his 100th song.

Oh, no party would be complete without an after party. For me, one of the funniest moments of the night was Chuck wandering around the near-empty dance floor, still in his undies asking if anyone has seen his clothes.  Ba ha ha ha.

As well as a damn fine excuse to play up, all this silliness, near-nakedness and exhaustion was for a cause – The Parfait Party.

Bright, Ex, Chuck and Tex choose to forgo clothes (and dignity), the Musicians choose to forgo usual tips, and asked the audience to instead tip giant Parfait Glasses in aid of my cause. Others choose to forgo sleep, money, sanity… it all went into the Parfait Glasses in the form of Linden dollars.

As I mentioned earlier, Second Life has its own economy and currency that converts to real dollars (approx. US$25-30 million are in world at any time).   They say it takes an village to raise a child… Well it took a small army to fill a Parfait Glass, and fill it they did. The event raised over HALF A MILLION LINDENS… which is a massive deal in Linden Dollars and real dollars.  It’s about $1800 AUD.  I spent the weekend in happy tears for all the kind words and donations.  Thank you to everyone who contributed or helped in anyway.

This event will be close to my heart as I travel… reminding me what a great community of people I have supporting me, all over the world.

*Stands on mountain top and screams*  I CAN DO THIS! THANK YOU ALL FOR BELIEVING IN ME!

3 thoughts on “An Epic Blog for an Epic Event – Rated PG for Party-Going Audiences.

  1. Thanks to all those who helped behind the scenes to make this happen – all I had to do was 1/Find my way on to stage
    2/ Sing /play guitar

    As you may have noticed I still find step 1 very difficult and a bit rusty on step 2 but thanks too to the other musos and of course my dear friend Bright – a true gentleman and a generous soul – its a real privilege to know him . It was great too too to be back on stage with my old buddy Ex – if not for EX I wouldnt have have had the confidence to write songs in the first place and we wouldnt be where we are now ..

    Hope it helps in some way to get you on the road Vanessa – in the meantime I’ll see who else I can Twitter to help you ..
    love Charles

I love to hear from you :)

