The Finest Line

 …also known as the well known tale of the Can-Do-Its

I’ve been thinking a lot about success and failure the last few days.  Lack of the former and the iminent arrival of the later.  So today I am giving myself a pep talk.  You get one too.

We’ve all heard the famous quotes:
“Failure is another steppingstone to greatness” – Oprah Winfrey

“The line between failure and success is so fine that we scarcely know when we pass it: so fine that we are often on the line and do not know” – Elbert Hubbard

Then of course we have the classic 12,000 ways not to make a light bulb,  fall down seven times and stand up eight and so on.  All wonderful stuff to have posted next to your computer or on the back of the dunny door. Hmm… talking about dunny doors – you should see what’s on mine! (maybe one day I’ll let you have a peek)

Ummm…yes I can use MS project but…
’tis really hard to bluetack the PC to the wall 🙂

And then, I look at my to-do lists and all those quotes seem fit for, is completing pretty posters of people mountain climbing.  Hmmm… the real question is how do I apply those inspirational words to the reams and reams of butchers paper in front of me.

Well, even if I am a bit behind schedule at least I’ve made a start.  That’s something right?  Maybe taking the first step and resolving to do something I love no matter the outcome is the success.  Robert H Schuller believes so: “Winning is beginning”.

Yesterday Fighter Vanessa and Frightened Vanessa were at each others throats, nay-saying this and blame-storming that.  The only appropriate response was to turn on some soothing music, drown them out, stop thinking and start doing.

But where to start?  Lewis Carroll recommends the Beginning.  Bit conventional for my liking.  So what do I want to work on today?  Something fun, something positive, something that is going to bring the Parfait Party closer to it’s potential.

All things on my list look terribly admin-y and tedious today.  What was that about opportunity being disguised as hard work?

In yesterday’s post the Lamp was quite horrified at idle thoughts being misused.  I suspect he would be equally unimpressed with me as I sit here sighing at my butcher paper lists. I can almost hear him, “Thoughts Become Things, you know.  If you think it’s too hard and too boring, you WILL prove yourself right.” 

Ok, so how do I rethink these daunting to-do’s into something more desirable?    I’ll defer to someone well versed in Thoughts Become Things

“Think of every single thing that we ‘have to’ do to get through a day as something that we ‘get to‘ do… before our turn is over” – Mike Dooley.

So maybe the finest line is is not between success and failure, beginning and ending. Perhaps the finest line is between “TASKS I have to do” and “Having the PRIVILEGE to do these tasks”.    Joy of joys; this finest line exists no-where but inside my noggin.  Look out… here I come TO-DO – no, scratch that PRIVILEGE-TO-DO list!

Can-do-its…
can-do-its…
can-do-its..
I CAN do it!

A Recipe for a Life with Bite-Sized Can-Do-Its

Ingredients
1 life – raw
1 time machine
1 bunch of Can’t-do-its
1 bunch of Can-do-its
Sprig of appreciation – fresh

Method
Chop the Can’t-do-it’s into palatable daily sized pieces. (You’ll barely notice them – just like hiding vegetables in mince for the kids)

Place the 1 raw life into the time machine, with the chopped Can’t-do-it’s.

Bake until the 1 raw life is about to expire.

Take the well baked life out of the time machine and examine. If you are not happy with the results place the life back into the time machine until it is back to a raw state.

*For a more pleasing result try this variation made with Can-do-it’s.

Remove and discard all the Can’t-do-it’s. Add Can-do-it’s to the 1 raw life (again, chop them into small pieces and they wont hurt a bit)

Finish your creation with a large fresh sprig of appreciation and take at least one bite each day.

Never forget the sprig of appreciation, it will remind you what a privilege it is to be able to add your own Can-do-it’s to raw life and frankly no life should ever be served without it.

6 thoughts on “The Finest Line

  1. Lovely words Vanessa – very inspirational ..
    Heres another famous ‘ failure’ quote ..
    ‘Failure is not an option’ – from film ‘Apollo 13’
    Having googled it further apparently Gene Kranz the Flight Controller didnt actually say that in real life – but it was the mentality of Nasa when there was a problem – dont panic – lay out the options – but failure isnt one of them

  2. Your post reminded me of the old ‘corporate world’ edict:

    How do you eat an elephant?

    In small bites.

    Go do the Nike on it, V.

  3. Beautiful post again sweet one.
    Only one thing, success is a certainty for you and you know this in your heart-just listen to it -love and hugs donald

I love to hear from you :)

